ESP > EX30 Plus Single Motor Extended Range

New to the Volvo EX30 Forums? Introduce yourself here
Paul1202
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 15, 2024 12:12 pm

Post by Paul1202 »

I just visited my dealer for a small mechanical thing. And told about the Waze-issue, asking if they have an official channel to report this to Volvo. He told me they have. He made a note about it and is going to speak with a colleague. Afterwards they would report this officially to Volvo and they would update me about it. So I'm curious.

By the way, I found a way to make it work:
1) go into your car and do all settings you want. Like starting the radio, adapting ventilation, whatever
2) then launch Waze, enter a destination and start it
3) go driving. Waze will work . Until....... you hit any touch-button on the screen, like the 'Home' button. Then Waze stops and gives the message 'You cannot use Waze while driving'
EX30 Core Single Motor Extended Range | 1.4 | BE

SP1959
Posts: 145
Joined: Tue May 07, 2024 8:58 pm

Post by SP1959 »

I have used Waze and didn't like it, so this is of no interest to me.

However, what I can't understand is - as Google own Waze, why is it so difficult for them to make two of their own products (Android Automotive and Waze) compatable.

A couple of years ago I had a similar experience with Android Auto and Google Maps. Google updated one of them, and then Google Maps wouldn't work on Android Auto. I ended up paying a subsciption to TomTom which always worked on Android Auto.

Now with the EX30 I have had to give up TomTom and return to Google Maps - which works OK for me now. (I must admit TomTom's directions are better than Google's, but Google's search facility is far superior to TomTom's.)
2024 EX30 Ultra - single motor - extended range - Onyx Black (UK)
User avatar
gloucester
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2023 4:11 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, England

Post by gloucester »

By the way, WAZE is WORKING on my car after the 1.4 update on Monday evening! Or at least it was yesterday - here I've stopped in a layby to take the picture but it worked while going along too. I was using Google Maps today and didn't check again.

20240709_173615.jpg

UK - 2024 Vᴏʟᴠᴏ EX30 Pʟᴜs - Sɪɴɢʟᴇ Mᴏᴛᴏʀ - Sᴛᴀɴᴅᴀʀᴅ Rᴀɴɢᴇ - Mᴏss Yᴇʟʟᴏᴡ/Pɪɴᴇ ~ 2018 Yᴀᴍᴀʜᴀ MT-07
Harald
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2024 4:45 pm

Post by Harald »

I guess, that Google has change something in Waze. Probably is cheaper change something in Waze than change the OS
Paul1202
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed May 15, 2024 12:12 pm

Post by Paul1202 »

gloucester wrote: Wed Jul 10, 2024 4:31 pm By the way, WAZE is WORKING on my car after the 1.4 update on Monday evening! Or at least it was yesterday - here I've stopped in a layby to take the picture but it worked while going along too. I was using Google Maps today and didn't check again.


20240709_173615.jpg
Hi gloucester. While you have Waze working/running, have you tried to click for example on the Home-button ? As on my car, once I click such a button, my Waze stops working and shows the message "Not available during driving"
EX30 Core Single Motor Extended Range | 1.4 | BE
Post Reply